NEWS RELEASE: Connecticut Economic Development Association Announces 2021 Board of Directors




November 17, 2020

CEDAS Announces 2021 Board of Directors

The Connecticut Economic Development Association (CEDAS), a not-for-profit organization committed to advancing the practice of economic development within the state of Connecticut, held their 2020 Annual Meeting on Tuesday, November 10th  with over 110 attendees. The virtual event featured keynote remarks from Governor Ned Lamont and DECD Commissioner David Lehman, who provided updates on the State’s economic development efforts and COVID-19 response.

The event also focused on the election of the organization’s 2021 Board of Directors. 

The following individuals were elected as officers:

President: Kristen Gorski, Town of West Hartford
1st Vice president: Paige Bronk, Town of Groton
2nd Vice President: Karen Pollard, Town of New Milford
Secretary:  Tom Burmeister, Profit Miners, Inc.
Treasurer: Mark Barnhart, Town of Fairfield
Immediate Past President: Garrett Sheehan, Greater New Haven Chamber of Commerce

The following 2020 board members will be returning to the board in 2021:

Michael Andreana, Pullman & Comley
Laura Brown, UCONN Extension
Sadie Colcord, AdvanceCT
Ani Chaghatzbanian, Avangrid
Lynn DiGiovanni, Luchs Consulting Engineers
Erin Howard, City of Hartford
Richard LoPresti, Town of North Haven
Fred Messore, City of West Haven
Julie Nash, City of Milford
Kim Parsons-Whitaker, Connecticut Main Street
Rose Ponte, Town of Farmington
Ryan Wolfe, Avangrid
Trenton Wright, Middlesex Community College

The following individuals are newly elected board members for 2021:

Jim Bellano, Town of Windham
Gene Goddard, MetroHartford Alliance
Cierra Patrick, Town of Groton
Thomas Madden, City of Stamford
Glendowlyn Thames, Deputy Commissioner, CT Dept. of Economic & Community Development
Delpha Very, Town of Putnam
Jason Vincent, Norwich Community Development Corporation
"I am very excited and honored to lead this organization in 2021," said Kristen Gorski, CEDAS president-elect. "Our work in economic development is more important now than ever. I am fortunate to be joined by a highly skilled, highly professional board of directors, who are driving impactful change within their communities, regions and across our state, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic. CEDAS looks forward to our continued efforts supporting Connecticut’s economy. I’d also like to thank our outgoing president and board members for their commitment to our organization".

Garrett Sheehan, outgoing CEDAS president, added “I am extremely proud of what our CEDAS team has accomplished over the last two years, but more so I am excited the work we have before us with our new board and president.  Economic development is always critical to our communities and state, but more so coming out of a tumultuous 2020.  Our professionals will be at the leading edge of our state’s rebuilding efforts.”

CEDAS also recognized three economic developers with awards.  Tom Marano from the City of Middletown was recognized as CEDAS Member of the Year for continuing and expanding his economic development networking group through the pandemic.  Sadie Colcord of AdvanceCT was recognized with the President’s Award for her tireless efforts in support of the organization including developing many of CEDAS’s events over the last two years.  Dale Kroop, who leads economic development in Hamden, was recognized with the Kenneth L. Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award.  Dale has been an innovator and community builder in Hamden for more than 21 years, and he is one of the most respected professionals in the state.

For more information on CEDAS or for ways to get involved in the organization, please visit


Kristen Gorski
Economic Development Coordinator, Town of West Hartford
CEDAS President-Elect                                                                         
(860) 960-6136

State Announces $50M Grant Program for Small Businesses and Nonprofits
« previous
New Connecticut grant program will provide $35 million to restaurants, bars and other small and mid-size businesses
next »
Member Login Login