CEDAS Annual Meeting and NEDA Holiday Party Review


At the 2010 Annual Meeting and Holiday Party (view photos), CEDAS celebrated its 48th year at the Whinstone Tavern in New Britain along with the Northeast Economic Development Association. The meeting was a review of the accomplishments for the year and the installation of new officers for 2011. The meeting also recognized members that have made outstanding contributions to CEDAS and the economic development field.

The membership, policy, scholarship, communications and program committees, including the Community Builders Institute, each reviewed their accomplishments. Here are but a few of the highlights:

  • Membership in CEDAS increased by more than 25% to over 250 members. Key growth was in the membership of economic development commissioners.
  • Six scholarships for training opportunities were awarded in 2010 at EDI, IEDC and other workshops.
  • Programs committee reported on the three regional quarterly meetings in Rocky Hill (Travelers Golf Tournament), Newtown (Fairfield Hills) and Hartford (CT Science Museum). Each program included a panel discussion on the development of each of the host developments. Members also had opportunties to network and share good times together.
  • The Community Builders Institute reported on the nine training workshops held through the year on wide ranging topics.
  • Nearly 20 e-bulletins or newsletters were sent out with an opening rate of 40%. There were also 40,000 distinct visits to our website.

Awards and 2011 Board Members

Many CEDAS members were recognized for their achievements in CEDAS and their contribution in the field of economic development.

Member of Year: John Shemo, Vice President, Metro Hartford Alliance

Presidents Awards: Patrick McMahon, Director of Economic and Community Development, Town of Suffield and Doreen DeSarro, Business Recruitment Director, Town of Wallingford

We also acknowledged several board members who have completed their time on the board and who have made important contributions to CEDAS:

  • Barbara Strother, Manager of Development, Town of Groton 
  • Ray Warren, Director of Economic and Community Development, Town of Enfield
  • Bob Mills, Executive Director, Norwich Economic Development Corporation

Incoming Officers for 2011 include:

  • President: Dale Kroop, Town of Hamden
  • First Vice President: Sandra Johnson, Metro Hartford Alliance
  • Second Vice President: Vin Nolan, Town of New Milford
  • Secretary: James Burke, Town of Windsor
  • Treasurer: Tom Cariglio, United Illuminating

Board Members:

  • Peggy Brennan, Meriden; 
  • Doreen DeSarro, Wallingford; 
  • Jeff Vose, Consultant and NEDA; 
  • Ginne-Rae Clay, Small Business Development Center; 
  • Mark Waterhouse, Consultant and EDI; 
  • John O’Toole, Northeast Utilities; 
  • David Prendergast, Naugatuck; 
  • Terri Elton, Branford; 
  • Rose Ponte, Torrington; 
  • Deborah Donovan, SECTOR; 
  • Bob Santy, CERC; 
  • Trent Wright, Middlesex Community College; 
  • Will Warren, REX Development; 
  • Elizabeth Stocker, Newtown; 
  • Deborah Cox, Trumbull; 
  • Holly Campo de la Vera, Department of Economic and Community Development

Stream Flow Regulations
« previous
CEDAS: Short-Term Recommendations to Governor-Elect Malloy & Our State’s Legislators
next »
Member Login Login